Adventuring


Todayone of my students found out he was taller than me, now I am “la petite Meaghan” awesome. I also saw the FATTEST basset hound I’ve ever seen in my life EVER today on my run, easily 80 lbs. It was also awesome but in a way awesome-er way. Check out this link to basset hounds running because it will make your day.

Anyways I’ve been very cultural lately, you would be proud. Last week on Wednesday I went to Mt. Ventoux, and Vaison la Romaine a town nearby with one of my collegues and a German girl working in one of my schools named Bettina. Mt. Ventoux you might recall is one of the hardest mountain climbs in Le Tour de France (Lance Armstrong whatuppp) and I actually saw some guy wearing a US Postal Service jersey biking up it while we drove. No way to know if he was real or not but maybe? It was a lovely day, we pic-nic-ed and just meandered. And by real I mean like actually on the team, obviously he was a real dude.

 

Mt. Ventoux, WHATUP LANCE ARMSTRONG I C U

Mt. Ventoux, WHATUP LANCE ARMSTRONG I C U

view from Mt Ventoux, if you look hard enough you can see the alps

view from Mt Ventoux, if you look hard enough you can see the alps

a cool house in Vaison

a cool house in Vaison

some fish on wheels in Vaison... cuz i mean, why not?

some fish on wheels in Vaison... cuz i mean, why not?


Over the weekend I invited Bettina and Mathanee down for a visit so that was a fun weekend, just hanging with the girls. It was probably the closest thing to a college weekend I’ve done in a while. AKA it kicked a$$. It wasn’t really cultural because we all just got drunk for St. Patrick’s day… you can’t get an English girl, a German girl, and an American girl together and NOT have that happen… I think all three are known for their love and appreciation of a good beer. And St. Patrick’s day is definitely not remotely French so we’ll just call that an opening of international frontiers, paving the way for the future.

But we did get cultural, I gave both Bettina and Mathanee the Tour de Nyons, full of history, facts, and cute cats. It was pretty awesome.

Then to get even mo cultural on yo booty,  yesterday I went to Lyon, the second largest city in France and the capitol of the region I live in (Rhône-Alpes). Lyon was MAD COOL!!! I took lots of pictas. There are two rivers that run though it, an ancient Roman amphitheatre (where we pic-nic-ed) a cool basilica, a giant cathedral (why they need both idk), an “old town,” a fake Eiffel Tower, and some really cool architecture. Here are some photos:

Basilica and fake Eiffel Tower

Basilica and fake Eiffel Tower

Roman Amphitheatre

Roman Amphitheatre

check out this history yo!

check out this history yo!

 

Basilica

Basilica

view of Lyon from the Basilica

view of Lyon from the Basilica

some crazy old celestial clock from the 1300s, YUP 1300s!!!!

some crazy old celestial clock from the 1300s, YUP 1300s!!!!

craycray fountain, i think thats a mermaid riding like giant horses coming out of the sea?

craycray fountain, i think thats a mermaid riding like giant horses coming out of the sea? interesting bc Lyon is inland sooo explain that one...

ONLYLYON... get it?

ONLYLYON... get it?

had to cuz i'm a LEO holla

had to cuz i'm a LEO holla... also my pants blend in, don't worry about that


I also bought some Barbapapa postcards so BOOM.

All in all? I think this has been a very culturally productive past few weeks! Nothing too cray has been going on at schoolio, just the usual bizniss.Although I did get inspected by the education inspector of the area on Tuesday when I had a fever. It went as well as you could expect that to go but ooooo wellz, he is a nice guy and I know he likes me and thinks I’m doing a good job.

Tomorrow: HUNGER GAMES HOLY SDKFSALJKDLAFKSJFASLDKALSDKFJA CANT WAIT.

On that note, I leave you

Bisous

Mego

 

One thought on “Adventuring

Leave a Reply

