Adventures in lock picking and other awkward moments


So today I was supposed to go to Lyon to have my medical visit so that I will be able to stay in France until May. Well I think the fates do not want me to stay here because this is the 3rd appointment I’m going to miss/have changed. Why? Oh because I am currently locked into my friend’s apartment in Grenoble. How does one lock oneself IN an apartment? Good question. This morning one of her roommates locked all the locks from the outside, leaving no keys on the inside not realizing that I was here still. So, now I am trapped here until someone comes home. I am not looking forward to having that conversation with her roommates. See she works about 2 hours away from here and will be home around 8 pm. Also she might be the first one home. So I’m here all day basically… feeling awkward. That also means I need to reschedule my appointment for another day, missing more work… sighhh what is going on in my life.

This is another one of those “oh shit i just got all my credit cards cancelled” moments. Except maybe this is worse because I fixed that within an hour and this has been going on since 10am. Also,I’m going to have to have a really awkward converstaion in the future with one of her roommates.Depending on what time it is I might not even be able to make it back to Nyons tonight, which is  not good since I have to work early in the AM….

Well you may ask,”Meaghan what did you do to try to fix your situation?” and I will break it down for you: first I tried the set of keys that were on the table. None worked. Second I cried. Third I thought “perhaps I can jump out the window” but then quickly realized that was stupid because I am onthe 4th floor and I don’t want a broken leg. Fourth I decided I would try to pick a lock. Never having picked a lock before this was a challenge that I failed miserably at. I tried watching youtube videos and reading tutorials but I could not manage it even though the internet says its easy. Now you may be asking yourself why did you not call Mathanee? Well I did. 15x. Her phone is off.

I’d also like to point out that a teacher from one of my schools just called me and when I explained what happened she was like “I’m sorry, I don’t understand…you are locked IN an apartment? How does that happen?” and trying to explain this in French is really hard. Le sigh…LIFE.

And now, I awkwardly wait…

4 thoughts on “Adventures in lock picking and other awkward moments

  1. I completely see how this could happen! Their doors do not have flip locks, so you need a key to unlock anything. Just think how funny this will be 10 years from now. Bon courage!

  2. You’re right, I do like this blog post. My vote is jump out the window, but thats just me… I’m a bad ass. hahaha

    I am just sitting here picturing you watching lock picking videos and crying… Reading this made me immediately think that this is such a Meaghan thing to do, sort of like shoving your debit card in the receipt printer at the gas station…. hahahaha thanks for making work slightly more managable by giving me entertaining stories to read.

    • i knew you’d like this. its a classic moment and you are exactly right about the credit card/gas machine. hahaha… can’t wait to see you, less than a month hopefully i have my visite medicale by then

Leave a Reply

