Christmas Songz


So it’s December. YAY! This is my favorite time of year, holidaze OD. Think about it, Halloween, Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Year. Bing bang boom! I love it. October and December are my favorite months of the year, and the Christmas season is my favorite season. Listening to Christmas music, going to holiday parties, seeing everyone come home is so super fun and exciting! Since I’m missing out on all that this year, I’m making up for it by going to the biggest Christmas market in France on the 16th and I really can’t wait for the Christmas OD I am going to experience there (Erin I wish you could come with me!). Then it is off to Germany to spend Christmas with my cousin Hambone/ Hamburglar.

To prepare, I have been listening pretty much since November 1st, to Christmas music. You say too early, I say I do what I want (Cartman voice)! Thanks to Spotify, I have had access to Justin Bieber’s new Christmas album as well as Michael Buble’s. To those of you who hate on Bieber, you don’t know what you are missing he is actually awesome. I’m 22 and I love Justin Bieber… hate on haterz

Anyways I have been inspired to post on my Top 10 favorite Holiday Tunez. I love top 10 lists (if you want to waste your entire day, check out Listverse.com) so this is exciting that this is my first published (kind of) list ever!

TOP 10 FAVORITE CHRISTMAS SONGS

10. I Can’t Wait for Christmas- Mindi Abair

This is so jazzy and easy to listen to. I found it on a Christmas station at my parent’s house making cookies years ago. Will easily become a top pick for anyone who enjoys a little bit of jazzy Christmas vibe.

9. Christmas Time is Here- Diana Krall

Who doesn’t love Charlie Brown? If you don’t well maybe you should get yourself checked out or something. Charlie Brown is classic and this song which is from the cartoon Christmas movie is classic as well. Diana Krall has an amazing voice and this song has a great vibe to it as well. Thanks dad for showing this to me!

8. Mistletoe- Colbie Caillait

I’m not sure where I found this but I did and it’s a sad Christmas song. If you are broken up with on Christmas eve, check this baby out. If not but you just like her voice then check this out too haha. Fortunately I’ve never had Christmas heartbreak but I still love this song.

7. White Christmas- Bing Crosby

Bing Crosby’s voice is the definition of Christmas songmanship (in my opinion) and I just love the movie that matches this song. So romantical!

6. Holly Jolly Christmas- Burl Ives

I LOVED this song when I was a kid, probably because of the singing snowman in Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer the claymation movie who was voiced by Burl Ives. I have no idea who Burl Ives is (sorry, I was practically born in the 90s) but this song has been one of my favorites since I was a small child. I used to listen to this in the summer when I thought no one was listening… yeah I was weird.

5. I’ll be Home for Christmas- Michael Buble

Well clearly I like this one since I’m not home for Christmas this year. However I am a sucker for Mr. Buble’s voice and I’ve appreciated this song a lot more as I got older and the realization that I may not always be with my family on Christmas loomed in the future. Anyways this is my all time favorite version of it. That got really philosophical… good thing I’m a sophisticated lady who listens to jazz and lives in France haha.

4. Blue Christmas- Celine Dion

I know I know blasphemy! I didn’t choose the Elvis version, and Celine Dion is kind of weird now that she is like out in Vegas doin her thang with her old man husband. I don’t know who bought the Celine Dion album at my house but somehow it finds its way on every Christmas and this is the best song off the CD hands down. Most of the CD is terrible and makes me want to stab my eardrums out, but I think this song is great, even if it is kind of really super depressing. I do have to say though I prefer her CD to the Chicago Christmas album (sorry dad!)

3. All I Want for Christmas is You- Mariah Carey ft. Justin Bieber

OK CALM DOWN PEOPLE I know you are all about to loose your cool on this one. GO LISTEN TO THE SONG and then come back and if you really hate it then you can yell. However, I think its better than the original. Here’s why: 1. Mariah 10,12, however many years later can still KILL those vocals and the quality of her voice has only improved. 2. Justin Bieber actually has talent and he sounds mature and deep here and it complements Mariah completely. The video is fun too and I want to steal her dress and wear it. Also I’m a sucker for the Biebs.

2. Baby It’s Cold Outside- Rod Stewart and Dolly Parton

This one I will fight you on if you say you know a better version. I don’t care for Rod Stewart (ever since my mom told me she thought he was “sexy” when I was 15 I’ve been scared) or Dolly Parton really either however I LOVE this song. I don’t know what it is, but I am obsessed. I have like 10 versions on my Christmas playlist on iTunes but none at all compare to this. Dolly is the perfect coquette and Rod does sound pretty dang sexy; I’d let him pour me half a drink more (if I didn’t know what he looked like or that he was like 60 years older than me).

1. Last Christmas-Wham!

I know what you are thinking “WHAT THE… (insert explicative of your choice here, my new favorite is PUNAISE aka bed bugs)” but you can’t deny its infectious. Although I was born in the 80s, I only lived for 5 months during the era so I can’t really call myself a product of the 80s. I’m not a big 80s fan and generally the music produced during this time (with a few exceptions) makes me want to stab things. This song is one of those exceptions. It just (ear)worms its way into your heart and then its there to stay. I definitely heard this on the radio in high school and have been obsessed with it since then.

Honorable Mentions: The Christmas Song- Nat King Cole, Santa Baby- Madonna, Rockin’ Around The Christmas Tree- Brenda Lee, and Jingle Bell Rock

I kind of live in a delusional world in my mind that is secretly hoping at all times that my life will somehow turn into a Christmas song/movie. So far, I’m still waiting, but I’m keeping hope that it may happen some day, in some way (as long as its not as a dysfunctional family way like in Christmas Vacation).

I have also felt inspired to do a movie list since I am so much in the Christmas spirit now

TOP 6 FAVORITE CHRISTMAS MOVIES

6. Home Alone

5. Charlie Brown Christmas

4.White Christmas

3. Elf

2. A Christmas Story

1. Christmas Vacation

Finally TOP WEIRDEST CHRISTMAS SONGS

*Dominic the Italian Christmas Donkey

*I Want a Hippopotamus For Christmas

*Anything by the Killers

*Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer, Bing Crosby version (it is weird I promise)

*90% of the Time Life Treasury of Christmas (there is like 10 CDs with 25 songs each so… you do the math)

And to finish up, a little French anecdote since I am living in this wonderful country! At school on Tuesday the Ron Burgundy-esque teacher came up to me and said “Meaghan you are not very tan.” Thanks for the newsflash Ron Burgundy but people normally aren’t tan in the winter. He is actually my favorite teacher and the fact that he says all these random Ron Burgundy things to me just makes him even better. I love crazy French people.

Ahhhh I love typing… and Christmas. Hope this got you in the spirit!!!

 

Grand Bis

Meaghan

3 thoughts on “Christmas Songz

  1. I can’t believe Mr. Magoo’s Christmas carole didn’t make your list of the best movies? PUNAISE! But I do pretty much agree with your song choices, mom too! I need to check out the Mindy Abaire one – love her (and you). dad

Leave a Reply

