Do I live in California or France?


So Nyons is beautiful. Like beyond words. It is weird because it really really really reminds me of California, the way the vineyards and olive farms are terraced on the hills/mountains and the roofs are all stucco and like that almost like pueblo style. It just reminds me of pictures of like Sonoma valley (not that I’ve ever been there or anything… Robert Mondavi could be lying to us all… you never know!).

My camera isn't that fancy so thats as good as its gonna get for now!

tOo CuTe FoR wErDz

At any moment people are going to burst into song, this is a fairytale

So anyways this is where I am living! I would post pictures of my apartment (if you could call it that) but everything is a hideous shade of cornflower blue, including the ceiling… wtf, so I won’t make all you readers puke in disgust. Blech! But anyways there are olive trees everywhere!! It is sooo pretty and picturesque. I can also walk EVERYWHERE in like 10 minutes. I’ve been running outside of the city and it is just AH-Mazing.

Olives olives errywherrre

Thats like 3 olives trees in an olive garden I found. YUP sure don’t have THOSE back in ole’ Virginny. This place just makes me think that if I wander outside the city limits I’m going  to find various magical creatures (maybe thats where the Barbapapas are hiding LOL) like dragons and wizards and sheesh. It just reminds me of a fairytale place, not to mention that most people who live here live here their entire lives and never leave. Soooo… maybe it is magical!

The people here are super nice! They kiss you three times on the cheek instead of the typical two and they talk in funny accents. The other day I was introduced to a woman who when I told her I lived “near” Washington DC (the only cities most French people know are DC, NYC, Vegas, and California… not a city but whatevs) she goes “Oh I’ve been there! I ate delicious pizza at a Mexican restaurant, do you know of it?” One I laughed because who orders pizza at a Mexican restaurant when you are a tourist, and two DC is HUGE!!! I was just like nope no idea I live at least four hours away from there… She was like “oh. It was the best pizza, you should try it sometime!” Yup lady I will definitely keep that in mind.

I also opened a bank account this week and that was very complicated. But I got it done so WHEW what a relief! However I was talking to the lady who helped me and she asked where I was from since I had an accent. When I told her America she was like “OH you speak English that is awesome! My son is learning English, he is about your age you two should meet! You know a lot of Americans come here and get married! Maybe you and my son…” I was just staring at her mouth open. This was a woman I just met. I was like well you know you are in a small town when…haha

Well its 80 degrees outside so I am going to go profiter bien du soleil (enjoy the sunshine!)! I will leave you with a picture of a cat on a car, because that is just what the internet needs, more pictures of cats!

i can haz napz?

3 thoughts on “Do I live in California or France?

  1. Meaghan, you’re town looks BEAUTIFUL! I hope I get to see it sometime this year…even if I do have to take that 2 hours bus ride and a train. And yes, the internet DOES need more pictures of cats.

  2. Beautiful, just like the books. Eat honey, and olives and wine and good bread and cheese for us all and enjoy the sunshine!

Leave a Reply

